Missouri Press Bulletin 10 18 2017 E Edition Page 1

No. 1342 - 18 October, 2017 Five will join Photojournalism Hall of Fame From MPA Staff The Missouri Photojournalism Hall of Fame in Columbia will induct five award-winning photojournalist and teachers of photography and journalism on Thursday. This will be the 13th group of inductees since the founding of the Hall of Fame in 2005. Inductees are Art Phillips of Florissant; Rita Reed of Columbia; Jim McCarty of Union; the late Garland D. Fronabarger of Cape Girardeau; and the late Wilson Hicks. Photographs made by the inductees will be on display during the 4 p.m. ceremony and reception in the Palmer Room at the Reynolds Journalism Institute on the University of Missouri campus in Columbia. Those photographs will join the Hall of Fame's collection of work by inductees. The Photojournalism Hall of Fame was founded at the urging of Bill Miller Sr., publisher of the Washington Missourian twice-weekly newspaper, to recognize outstanding contributors to visual communication with ties to Missouri. Miller's father and a brother have been inducted into the Hall of Fame. Information about the Photojournalism Hall of Fame and previous inductees can be seen at photojournalismhalloffame. org Inductees are chosen based on the following criteria: Outstanding photojournalism achievement. Long-term photography for a Missouri publication or other journalism outlet. Leadership in education. Technical innovations. Ethical values and integrity. Contributions to community. Contact Melody Bezenek at 573-449-4167 to learn how your donation can support the Photojournalism Hall of Fame.

Next Page